The painful void of mentoring for young attorneys reflected in craigslist ad

This afternoon I stumbled across a craigslist ad in the Chicago area that read as follows:

Attorney WILL WORK FOR FREE; MAYBE EVEN PAY TO WORK (Loop [Chicago area])
I am looking for a mentor. In exchange I will work on your cases and/or pay to work for the opportunities to learn more about depositions, discovery, civil procedure, oral argument and other subject matter. I am an intelligent lawyer working at a small class action firm. I just am not getting the proper training in certain areas that I feel I need to succeed e.g. Depositions, cv. Pro., organization, ect. Please contact me and we can discuss this rare opportunity.

Leave a Reply

